Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

May 16, 2025

The Honorable Robert Aderholt Chairman U.S. House Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member U.S. House Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Washington, DC 20515

Chairman Aderholt and Ranking Member DeLauro,

We are writing to request that you prioritize the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) in your Fiscal Year (FY) 2026 appropriations bill by including the highest level of funding possible for this program that provides critical support to our most vulnerable citizens.

LIHEAP helps some of the neediest families in the country with their energy bills by providing them with vital assistance during both the cold winter and hot summer months. According to the US Department of Health and Human Services, at least 70 percent of LIHEAP households report at least one household member who is age five or younger, 60 or older, or has a disability. For these households, LIHEAP funding has been a lifeline during challenging economic times. Access to affordable home energy is not a luxury – it is essential for the health and safety of families.

LIHEAP is an exceptionally efficient and targeted program, with state block grants flowing to local agencies to eligible households on a short-term basis to prevent utility disconnections or provide assistance with the cost of heating and cooling their homes. Living at the lowest levels of poverty, recipients of these funds are forced to make choices every day between food, medicine, or utilities. Robust funding for LIHEAP in FY 2026 will ensure these incomeconstrained households do not fall through the cracks.

We understand the discretionary budget challenges the Committee will be facing in FY 2026. However, LIHEAP is chronically underfunded. In recent years, the program has only had funds to serve one out of six eligible households. As household budgets are strained by inflation and other economic pressures, many income-constrained families and seniors will have fewer resources available to meet their basic needs.

As you finalize your FY 2026 Labor, Health and Human Services, Education and Related Agencies Appropriations bill, we ask that you take into account the tremendous and growing need for LIHEAP. We urge you to prioritize this program and maximize funding. Thank you for your attention to and consideration of this important request.

Sincerely,

Mart

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

James P. Une

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Rob Bresnahan, Jr. Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Wilson Frederica

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

ack Bergman

Jack Bergman Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey Member of Congress

Michael R. June

Michael R. Turner Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Cleo Fields Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

forelle 5. pm

Janelle S. Bynum Member of Congress

liai

Angie Craig Member of Congress

, rin Mullin

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Ju R. Meclice onn

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

ori Irala

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Panetta nmy

Member of Congress

Fauls.tonlo

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Gabe Amo Member of Congress

Gabe Vasquez Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

mar

Kristen McDonald Rivet Member of Congress

ebbie Dingel

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Kasheda Hail

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Johnny Oszewski, Jr.

Member of Congress

Seth Magaziner Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

itter

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

121

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

andall

Emily Randall Member of Congress

Junnew L. Lee

Summer L. Lee Member of Congress

landrà Cenney

Claudia Tenney Member of Congress

TILLY -Atta

Hillary J. Scholten Member of Congress

Patrick K. Ryan Member of Congress

be Neguse Member of Congress

Monesy Hackhan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Alila

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress

ll Hadlen

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

Take Auchincloss Member of Congress

ratel m

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress

0,

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

to the knowle

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

udy Chu Judy Chu

Member of Congress

lillin R. Keatin

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Ritchie J

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

Muh h. L.

Nicholas A. Langworthy Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

). Clarke Guette v

Wette D. Clarke Member of Congress

Timoto M. Kenned

Timothy M. Kennedy Member of Congress

0119

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

Ainde J. Sain

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Tolin C Kelli

Røbin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

LaMonica McIver Member of Congress

ance Hooden

Lance Gooden Member of Congress

Michael-V. Lawler Member of Congress

oult o

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez

Member of Congress

Brian K. Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Robert J. Menendez Member of Congress

Herbert C. Conaway, Jr. / Member of Congress

Paus Dalate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

4000

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Jan Friedra

Laura Friedman Member of Congress

Iris to

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Here GALL

Delia C. Ramirez Member of Congress

Rill Faster

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Kelly Modison

Member of Congress

Don's Matsui

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

George Whitesides Member of Congress

Bill Huizenga Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

uk Lanen

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Mark Jalaam

MARK TAKANO Member of Congress

) clsi J05 h

Joe Wilson Member of Congress

Varge

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

LI lall

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Chell R

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Josh Kiley Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Golden

Yared Golden Member of Congress

Maxine Waters

Maxine Waters Member of Congress

Peres Bis

Becca Balint Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán Nanette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Jim Hin

Member of Congress

Macke

an Mackenzie Member of Congress

Wesley Bell Member of Congress

Jelanie A. Stansburg

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

min Some

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

More

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

an McBride Member of Congress

Luz M. Rivas Member of Congress

Kweisi Mfume Member of Congress

Derek T. Tran Member of Congress

Sahas Subramanyam

Member of Congress

son WMel

Gregory W. Meeks Member of Congress

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

Taraunendi

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Brender !!

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Maxine Dexter Member of Congress

Jugance ? ia

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

esus y

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Ason Crow Member of Congress

in Flefoher

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress